How to Backup Your Course in Moodle

This documentation will walk you through how to create a manual backup of your Moodle course. Once you create the backup, you will be able to download the backup to your personal computer.

As outlined in the Moodle Data Retention Policy:
Instructors have the ability to create a backup of their courses at any time in the Course Backup area.

  • These backups are for personal records.

  • These backups should be downloaded by the instructor as soon as possible, and then deleted from the LMS (Moodle).

  • These backups should not reside permanently on the LMS (Moodle) due to their effect on space and performance. Personal backups older than ten (10) days will be removed upon discovery by LMS (Moodle) administrators.

1.) Next to your course name, click the gear icon (1) and click 'Backup' (2)

Image of selecting Backup under gear icon, with 1 the icon and 2, circled, as backup.

 

2.) On the 'Backup settings' screen, either check or uncheck the box 'Include enrolled users' (read below for an explanation)

Image of the Include enrolled users selection under Backup settings, which is circled.

If you check the box, "Include enrolled users" - then your backup will include all user data.
This could include:

  • enrolled users

  • forum posts

  • quiz data

  • grades

If you were to restore your course into a blank shell in the future, you would need to reset the course to remove all student data. The purpose of including enrolled user data would be to have the data for your personal records.

If you uncheck the box, "Include enrolled users," you will remove any user data from your backup. The backup would essentially be treated as an import, which is what would normally occur when an instructor imports course content from one course to another.

 

3.) Keep all other boxes checked at the default and click the 'Next' button in the bottom-right corner

Image of Next button

 

4.) For Schema settings, if you would like to keep all of the content from your course in the backup, leave all of the boxes checked and click 'Next'

Image of Schema settings, which is circled.

 

5.) Review the settings and click 'Perform backup'

Image of Perform backup button

 

6.) Your course will begin to backup

Image of backup progress bar

  • You can monitor the progress by watching the progress bar. If your course is large, it may take a few minutes.

 

7.) When the backup is complete, Moodle will notify you

Image of backup complete message

  • Click continue to access the backups.

 

8.) Scroll down to your 'User private backup area' and find the backup you just created

Image of User private backup area, which is circled.

  • Click the "Download" button next to your backup to download it to your computer.

  • You will be able to find your current backup by looking at the "Time" column.

  • You now have a backup of your Moodle course. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the Technology Service Desk at 278-5200.

Details

Article ID: 78384
Created
Wed 5/15/19 1:26 PM
Modified
Thu 10/24/19 8:58 AM
Internal or External
External