Remove a User from a Moodle Course

This walkthrough covers the process of un-enrolling a user from a Moodle course. This process can be used for organizational Moodle sites or other needs. Moodle student and instructor enrollments are processed automatically. This means:

  • You cannot remove a user who has been automatically enrolled. They must drop the course to be removed.
  • It may take up to 72 hours for a user to be enrolled or removed from your Moodle course after they register or drop the course in OnTrack (the timeframe is usually closer to four hours).
Students that are removed from an academic course are not unenrolled. Their account is placed into a suspended state to preserve their data in accordance with our data retention responsibilities. Though Moodle is configured to hide suspended users from instructors in the list of participants and the gradebook, these users do currently appear in the new Forum Grader interface. 

1.) In the left-hand navigation column, click 'Participants'

null

2.) Find the user you would like to remove

3.) Click the trash can icon (located beside of the user's enrollment information)

  • You'll be taken to a confirmation page asking if you want to proceed with removing that user.
  • If you have linked/combined sections, the trash can icon may not appear. If that is the case, you will need to go to the Moodle course that the user was originally enrolled in to remove them. Removing them in the original course will remove them from the linked course.

4.) Click 'Unenroll' on the confirmation page

  • This will complete the process of removing that user from your course.

Details

Article ID: 78699
Created
Tue 5/21/19 11:08 AM
Modified
Wed 9/16/20 10:43 AM
Internal or External
External